Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > How to check headstock for looseness?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 04:02 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts

Default How to check headstock for looseness?

We have two lathes at work a newer South Bend has a six foot bed. We have another older South Bend with a four foot bed. I would like to be able to crown and chamber my own barrel. I would prefer to use the newer South Bend, but I work for the federal government. Most people wouldn't mind me working on a firearm, bit there's some that might. The older lathe is off site and the manager of that facility wouldn't mind me leaving a barrel in the lathe. I'm a rookie at this and have not been doing very precise work, but would like to. How can I check the headstock on the lathe to see if its precise enough for gun work?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-23-2012, 06:50 PM   #2

Liked 26 Times on 12 Posts

From what Ik about them from the schooling I have as long as you indicate the part in it should be accurate to whatever you indicated to....machinehead knows more as he is a very good machinist maybe try a pm to him is a regular to the diy forum.

Old 12-23-2012, 06:53 PM   #3

I have talked to machine head as he is a close friend and he said chuck up a piece of bar stock horizontaly and put indicator on headstock and pull back ind forth and look for movement on dial that will tell you slop

Old 12-23-2012, 11:08 PM   #4

Hi,

Thanks for the info. Did he say how much movement?

Bob