Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > help bedding a receiver

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2010, 07:12 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3763 Times on 1803 Posts
Likes Given: 664

Default help bedding a receiver

Hey guys, sorry if this is in the wrong section. I've been looking for a while and can't find any info. Does anyone have a write up on how to bed a receiver on a rifle? I read on here some people were doing it with JB Weld, but I need to know how to actually do this, as I've never done it before. Any help or links would be appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-19-2010, 08:41 PM   #2

Quite a few threads here on the subject...use the "Search" tool.
Also I found this useful Glass Bedding The Stock the first time I bedded a rifle. Acraglas is super smooth and easy to use.

Old 06-19-2010, 08:56 PM   #3

Thank you for the information.

Old 06-19-2010, 10:09 PM   #4

http://www.brownells.com/userdocs/learn/Inst-466.pdf

glass bedding instructions

Old 06-19-2010, 11:22 PM   #5

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

You'll need modeling clay, Acraglas Gel kit, a Dremel with a wood bit, masking tape, plenty of release agent, and a good dose of patience.