Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Gunsmithing Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   Gunsmithing Schools? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/gunsmithing-schools-27063/)

Gordo323 05-12-2010 03:12 AM

Gunsmithing Schools?

I have been a helicopter mechanic for the last 30 years, I have loved the life (still do), however my passion has always been for shooting guns. I was wondering if anybody has any advice for becoming a gunsmith. I am seeing alot of ads in my favorite gun mags lately offering online training, and was just wondering if any one has had any experiences with these schools, or is it best to just go off on my own?
I am 52 years old and the travel involved with what I do now is taking it's toll! Not rich enough yet to retire, just looking for something for the future!

danf_fl 05-12-2010 09:03 AM

Some of the on-line schools may be okay, but IMO, I would go in-resident (or at least hang around a good smith's shop). Cylinder and Slide offers a "Hands-on" class for the 1911. There are also Armorer's classes offered by different manufacturers. Various classes at vo-tech schools can be used in the pursuit of your new "hobby". Good Luck.

Biohazurd 05-24-2010 06:57 AM

Check out Colorado school of trades. they got me started in the biz... ha ha.

By the way i frown apon an online gunsmithing school. Gunsmithing is a trade not a science you need hands on real world training to become an efficient gunsmith IMO, Something an online course can offer you.

stalkingbear 05-25-2010 01:41 PM

You're not going to get much out of online gunsmithing schools. I'd strongly suggest an on campus trade school or gunsmithing course. Gunsmithing is something that requires a LOT of hands on training.

Gordo323 05-26-2010 11:32 PM