Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Gunsmithing Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   Gunsmithing (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/gunsmithing-46687/)

gaeilgeoir 08-12-2011 01:00 AM

Gunsmithing

Ok, I don't really have any idea what a gunsmith does (like day to day and stuff, besides the obvious) or how to become one but I just wanted to hear from an expert or two as yo what it is like, as from the little I know of it it seems like I might enjoy becoming one after I become to old for the military or become disabled or something. As much as you are willing to write and much appreciated!

danf_fl 08-12-2011 08:39 AM

I'm no expert (though I did stay at the Holiday Inn).
Depending on the shop. I've seen some where they are busy all day, everyday.
I've seen some shops where the smith is the only one and has a small amount of work to do.

Can you sit for hours? Can you work a lathe or milling machine? Are you anal about how things work together and their appearance?

Don't let the television impair your judgement. Look at the shop of "Sons of Guns" before Will comes in with a "last minute" project. There is a lot of "busy" work being done.

Work can be a hobby that grew up, but hobbies can be expensive to start.

hiwall 08-12-2011 02:09 PM

Good points- - Get to see and work on a wide range of guns - - get to meet new people who have the same interest as you - - get to do honest work with your hands that you can say"I did that!"
Bad points - - on some jobs you might make $1 per hour if you are lucky - you buy an expensive tool that you think you need and four years later its still brand new - during hunting season you never have a moments rest - in January you wish you would see a customer so you have someone to talk to - takes many years to build your business up and then you retire.

gaeilgeoir 08-12-2011 11:18 PM