Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Gunsmithing Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   Gunsmith school question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/gunsmith-school-question-63357/)

seanch 04-27-2012 03:45 AM

Gunsmith school question

I am thinking about going to gunsmith school, how hard is it? And what basically would I need, and would it be worth it demand wise, right now I am a truck driver so I make pretty good $. What all do I need like high school diploma. Any help would be helpful to me. Are the online classes worth it or hands on classes. Please help. Thanks all

mountainman13 04-27-2012 03:50 AM

You need a good mechanical aptitude, patience and to be able to work with your hands. A brick and mortar school is your best bet if you can afford the time and money. There are some decent online programs for a knowledge base and some that are complete bs. I would not suggest getting into gunsmithing if making money is your goal. You need to have a Passion for firearms.

PlaysWithZombies 04-27-2012 03:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mountainman13
You need a good mechanical aptitude, patience and to be able to work with your hands. A brick and mortar school is your best bet if you can afford the time and money. There are some decent online programs for a knowledge base and some that are complete bs. I would not suggest getting into gunsmithing if making money is your goal. You need to have a Passion for firearms.

Agreed. All the gunsmiths i know either do it as a hobby in their spare time, or own a gunshop.

Marlinman 04-27-2012 03:58 AM

I do it as a hobby and I'm a partner in a gun shop. If $ is your big desire stay on the road. I don't know bout online classes since I had a mentor.

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

seanch 04-27-2012 12:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mountainman13