a few interesting questions....

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > a few interesting questions....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2008, 08:17 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default a few interesting questions....

welp as i said in my intro im a small arms technician seeking true knowledge about firearms, down to the core of matters, not just how to figure out whats wrong and replace/repair a part.... in my studies(and i seriously look far deeper then made my instructors comfortable) i came up with a few questions that i realy just cant find an anser for, tonight i want to focus on this....

locking, why? even a thompson smg had a special locking system put into it so that it wouldnt open at the height of the pressure from the round, but rather when that force ebbed. does locking the chamber prevent explosive acedents? ensure that the buffer(or mainspring) is not over stressed? or maybe some realy easy to spot thing that i didnt see. keep in mind, i know how to repair these things but im trying to get at the heart of how they work and why they were built that way.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-20-2008, 06:06 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 9567 Times on 4116 Posts
Likes Given: 1499