bedding material
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > bedding material

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2011, 05:26 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default bedding material

i have some fiberglass gel left from an automotive project, can i use that to bed my recoil lug and 1 1/2 inches of the barrel? im new to this stuff, so if thats a dumb question, im sorry.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-05-2011, 05:40 PM   #2

It might work, but I would not chance it. It may compress and then you would have to grind it all out. Better to do it the right way.
Get some Brownells Accu Glass gel or even though it's more expensive, the Steel Bed is the best bedding material out there, it won't give, compress and gives the best bedding.
Marine Tex is good also, but I like the Brownells Steel bed because you just mix it 50-50.
I bed all my rifles with the Steel Bed. I just got done doing my H&R 5200.
If it's a light kicking rifle, the gel or JB Weld will be fine, a hard kicking rifle, use the Steel bed or one of the other bedding compounds with metal in them.
I've bedded hundreds of rifles and it's best to use proper material made for bedding, that way you will not have any problems.

John K

Old 03-05-2011, 05:47 PM   #3

its a model 70 lightweight 30-06 but i plan to use managed recoil ammo. just want to use up the crap i have laying around. would have to be better than no bedding at all, right?

Old 03-05-2011, 06:05 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by xr650rider View Post