Aspiring Gunsmith

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Aspiring Gunsmith

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2011, 12:15 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Aspiring Gunsmith

Hello i am a resident of Kentucky, and wish to pruse a career as a gunsmith, My question: Is there any formal gunsmith schools in or around Kentucky. Ive read great things about the school in Colorado but that's a lil far from Ky.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-27-2011, 01:01 AM   #2
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2724 Times on 1327 Posts
Likes Given: 1386

Nate,

Go on line and type in Gunsmith Schools in KY. You will find the listings of the technical schools there. One can attend classes or go on line. I know the one in CO. is supposed to be one of the best around. I have my doubts about the online experiences since obviously they are not hands on and only book work. Hands on is what you will need to develop into a good gunsmith. I do know that one of the Remington Service Centers is located in Louisville KY. If a guy could do some apprentice work there or a local gun shop that does a lot of business and repair that would be great for you. Even if you volunteer free it is getting an education that you would normally pay good money for. Just be ware of the scams of online education when it comes to where you pay the price and really do not get much education in this field! Bottom line it takes years to become a good gunsmith and the experiences that come with it.
Good Luck on your venture!

Old 11-01-2011, 04:46 AM   #3