AR upper vise block
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum >

AR upper vise block


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 09:25 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BCMjUnKiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 231
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default AR upper vise block

Have a Pro Aluminum upper vise block.
And wanted to know if I keep my BCG in the receiver? I'm removing the FSP pins and gas tube so that I can remove the barrel nut and Delta ring. I'm installing a DD 9.5" FSP Lite rail on my 10.3". I know I have to remove the flash hider also.
Thanks for any suggestions.

Last edited by canebrake; 04-25-2012 at 02:27 AM. Reason: TTTP
BCMjUnKiE is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 04-24-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gatoragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North GA. Back home in Dixieland.
Posts: 3,633
Liked 1317 Times on 744 Posts
Likes Given: 574

Default

The vise block I purchased from Brownells has a piece you insert in the upper receiver to provide internal support. I would not use a BCG in place of this support. I would try to find a dowel or something to insert in the upper.

I have this set: http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=22385/Product/AR-15-M16-UPPER-RECEIVER-ACTION-BLOCK
Gatoragn is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:33 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gatoragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North GA. Back home in Dixieland.
Posts: 3,633
Liked 1317 Times on 744 Posts
Likes Given: 574

Default

Actually I purchased this kit a couple of years ago:

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=41214/avs%7CMake_3=AR-15zz1zzM4/Product/AR-15-M16-CRITICAL-TOOLS-KIT
Gatoragn is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:08 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BCMjUnKiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 231
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Here is the Upper and Lower vise block I have.
http://www.squirreldaddy.com/AR-15-M16-Pro-Upper-Receiver-Vise-Block-Combo-p/20-118.htm
BCMjUnKiE is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:12 AM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BCMjUnKiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 231
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Sending the Squirrel Daddy vise block back and ordered the Brownells upper vise block just to be on the safe side and to know the job will be done right.
Thanks guys.
BCMjUnKiE is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 05:44 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wrightbuiltarmory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 76
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have the brownells are vise set
Can't live with out it
wrightbuiltarmory is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
New RRA upper JonM AR-15 Discussion 33 07-16-2011 07:28 PM
Anyone ever try out the .50 cal bmg upper?? moneymaker17 AR-15 Discussion 4 07-10-2011 12:30 AM
upper help soulsniper AR-15 Discussion 5 04-01-2011 04:44 AM
AR-15 Chiappa .22 upper/CMMG upper any thoughts? greggos .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion 2 02-23-2011 05:59 PM
AR Upper Build Question - DD Barrel Nut Hard To Thread On To Upper Cnynrat AR-15 Discussion 3 05-27-2009 03:52 AM



Newest Threads