Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Gunsmithing Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   Air compressor (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/air-compressor-77480/)

Bullduck 12-01-2012 03:04 PM

Air compressor

I'm a newbie looking to do some gun refinishing & small projects at home. In shopping for an air compressor & blasting cabinet I realized I don't know what I need to look for in minimum requirements of these devices. I will be working on both long guns & pistols. The compressor's size, power, & output appear to be important. And I hope to get some help selecting a blasting cabinet that's adequate for a reasonable cost. I'm not interested in cutting corners & will pay for quality.

Axxe55 12-01-2012 03:25 PM

check out Harbor Freight or Northern Tool Supply. refinishing won't require a lot of air usage, so even a smaller compressor would work fine. the blast cabinet is the item that will use a lot of air and determine the size of compressor needed. find the cabinet that suits your needs and then match a compressor to that cabinet based on CFM needed to operate properly.

HOSSFLY 12-01-2012 04:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by axxe55 (Post 1034599)
check out Harbor Freight or Northern Tool Supply. refinishing won't require a lot of air usage, so even a smaller compressor would work fine. the blast cabinet is the item that will use a lot of air and determine the size of compressor needed. find the cabinet that suits your needs and then match a compressor to that cabinet based on CFM needed to operate properly.

Agree--Harbor Freight is the 1st place i go for tools & such--
Course they don't carry exspensive lifetime high dollar stuff but i ain't busted too much from there :) I've had my air compressor for almost 5yrs - paid about $120=

Bullduck 12-01-2012 06:13 PM