.300 Savage jamming...
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > .300 Savage jamming...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2011, 02:35 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default .300 Savage jamming...

I have been asked by an old friend to try to fix his Model 99, 300 Savage. His ailments have forced an end to his hunting and he wishes to give it to a young nephew who is starting his first trap line in a few weeks. I am a machinist by trade, but by no means a gunsmith. Due to our location in northern Canada, I have been asked many times to fix up guns that were not deemed worth the trouble shipping them south to a real gunsmith. Mostly stock repair, metal blueing and some parts repair. I tried once to take apart a Winchester 30-30 and couldn't get it back together. Lever actions scare me, and yet, they keep knocking on my door.
This one has me a bit puzzled. Without any ammo, the lever will completely close and the gun will fire. However when I load it with shells or dummy rounds, the lever will not completely close. The lever comes to within a 1/4" of the stock grip and stops. The trigger will not move. There doesn't seem to be anything loose inside. Nothing rattling around. I tried playing with the rotary clip to see if it was jamming, but could find no problem. The shells load okay, the action is smooth, and the shells eject, but it will not close completely.
I am hoping one of you kind gentlemen will give me some idea of what may be the problem without need to take it apart. I have two weeks to fix it. Any response is welcome.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.