Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Other Weapons > Lets talk Bows !

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 02:08 AM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 984 Times on 650 Posts
Likes Given: 1778

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimePorkchop View Post
I've been bowhunting for a very long time now, but im still no expert.

If you want my opinion - get a compound bow and go with PSE.

Recurve bows, in my opinion, are for when you've mastered a compound because a recurve takes a lot more skill to hit your target.

Check out the PSE Bow Madness XS. It's what I shoot, and I love it. You're going to want to know a lot more than "What bow should I get" because equally important are arrows, broadheads, sights, and misc other little things that really add up.

How much $$ you spend depends on how serious you're going to take it.

You can get a field ready Bow Madness XS for $699.00 (click here) --- but side note, you'll want the 70#...50# just isnt worth it...even if you have to work up to 70, you'll want to be shooting 70 in the end.

But, in this guys opinion, you're getting horrible quality accessories. It's better to buy a bare bow and add your own accessories.

There's an enormous discussion to be had if you're just starting to get into archery, so perhaps its' best to start at the beginning and ask what it is you're aiming to do?

Hunting, Recreation, Competition, etc.
I have to disagree on the 70# bow , its unneeded unless your hunting large large game like moose , I killed 2 deer last yr with 58# both pass thrus and 4 deer the yr before with 55# all pass thrus but one and it was becuase it was a spine shot directly under me . The new bows are so fast you dont need all that extra weight to generate the speed of a 70# bow from 3 yrs ago , they are smoother drawing and much faster than they were 3 yrs ago . Lots of technology and R&D out there in bows now