You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Other Weapons >

Bow shooters?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2010, 03:04 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 311 Times on 194 Posts
Likes Given: 146

While I have limited experience with recurve or longbows, I do have extensive experience with compounds. Let me know if you decide to step up to a compound Dave and I'll share what I know with you. I've been a bowhunter since 1974. With your gimp shoulder you may discover it's a compound affair only due to the letoff a compound offers. Good luck with this and keep us updated.

Old 07-03-2010, 03:58 AM   #12
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 7455 Times on 3974 Posts
Likes Given: 594

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGIB View Post
One of the big questions I had for myself is does it make sense to get a lighter draw beginner's bow.
yes. a lighter draw in the 35-40lb range will allow you to build up seldom used muscles and concentrate more on form than trying to hold the draw weight. my current hunting bow is a bear longbow at 50lb my draw length is 28".

one real key step that is often overlooked by new archers is getting the correct draw length with matching arrows and tuning the bow to your arrows.

make sure you buy from a local archery expert they can easily pair you with the correct bow, arrows, and tune both to your draw length.

Old 07-03-2010, 04:28 AM   #13

Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

And archery is a practical skill which would prove to be useful in a shtf scenario for both hunting and defence. Can you imagine the look on a zombie's face after his buddy catches a 3 foot arrow through the chest going clean through his kevlar and out the back...like a toothpick in those little sandwhiches..heheheh..makes me giggle every time i think about it.

Old 07-06-2010, 10:16 AM   #14

Liked 29 Times on 7 Posts