Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Why are ammo prices so high?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 12:13 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 14 Times on 7 Posts

Default Why are ammo prices so high?

I started shooting a lot about 8 years ago. I shoot shotguns, handguns and rifles. The cost of ammunition has gone up roughly 65% since then. It's gone up so much that I need to reload to afford this sport.

I have a degree in economics but it's not my field today. I am trying to wrap my head around this question of supply and demand. Hers are a few scenarios I came up with.

1) People are shooting more than ever. Two wars. Manufacture can't keep up with demand. Prices go up.

2) The price of raw materials, fuel to transport them and cost of manufacture have gone up. Prices go up.

3) Industry decides that they make more money making less product. Prices go up. Manufacture prices stay the same. Profit!

The problem with 3, withholding supply, is that another upstart should step in.

So... What is it

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-28-2012, 12:45 AM   #2

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 15

supply and demand also it being a election year has alot to do withit right now

" TO EACH HIS OWN "

Old 04-28-2012, 02:57 AM   #3

Liked 14 Times on 7 Posts

This transcends elections. Prices were climbing before Bush's second term and rose through his second. They only slightly rose with Obama.

Yes supply and demand is at work here but in what capacity?

Last edited by LandMonster; 04-28-2012 at 03:14 AM.