What bullet for .44mag to deer hunt with? - Page 5
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > What bullet for .44mag to deer hunt with?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 12:13 PM   #41
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 253 Times on 202 Posts
Likes Given: 216

Quote:
Originally Posted by fish View Post

Thanks DwMiller. I wouldn't mind trying some speer gold dot myself. Is this a hollow point round? The Hornady XTP isn't your generic hp, but still I've read some reviews that indicate a hp can give dramatic shallow wound without sufficiently impacting the vitals. Perhaps this is a moot point if I start aiming for the head? :-p
Yes this is the large hollow point. It penetrates quite well. I've been shooting the golddots for 7-8 years now. Shot hardcast keith type bullets before that. Used to use the the 240 grain HP. Bought a box of 200 grain when LGS was sold out. Noticeably reduced recoil. ~300 fps faster according to chrono. Penetration, 19" in wet paper phone books. Went to the 210 Deepcurl when it came out, great bullet, all you need for deer!

Shot a 350lbs hog quartering away, broke rear hip, spine and front shoulder before exiting. Shallow wound!?! :eek Mushroomed well and kept on going! Very flat ballistics to 100 yards, 2.25" drop.

"You know why there's a Second Amendment? In case the government fails to follow the first one."
-- Rush Limbaugh, in a moment of unaccustomed profundity

"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government"
-- Thomas Jefferson, 1 Thomas Jefferson Papers, 334

"MOLON LABE" - Come and get them, can't be any plainer than that!

Last edited by dwmiller; 11-10-2013 at 01:44 PM.

Old 11-09-2013, 12:17 PM   #42
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2200 Times on 1218 Posts
Likes Given: 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by fish