Useing one brand of primers can cause slam fires in free floating fire pins?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Useing one brand of primers can cause slam fires in free floating fire pins?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2012, 06:25 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default Useing one brand of primers can cause slam fires in free floating fire pins?

Ok, I am new to reloading and I know that there are two sizes of primers (large and small) and two primer set ups..(rifle and pistol) along with two strengths (regular and magnum)

So I know that rifle primers have thicker cups which take more force to ignite.. I just seen a you tube video that freaked me out.. It said that some primer brands for rifles are designed for bolt action and do no have a thick enough wall for semi autos with free floating fire pins causing slam fires... (such as a AR15).. Is this true? It has freaked me out out.. I thought all rifle primers in proper size were safe to use on my semi auto weapon..

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-16-2012, 06:27 PM   #2

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Old 05-16-2012, 08:29 PM   #3

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 94

A slam fire is when the bolt slams into the chamber then the firing pin continues and hits the primer firing the round. It is a dangerous situation because some people might not have the firearm pointed in a safe direction when cambering a round. Slamfires don't destroy the firearm.

Now an out of battery ignition has the potential to do damage, which isn't the same thing.