Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Turk Ammo in Hakim

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 11:06 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 9
Default Turk Ammo in Hakim

I have just picked up a Hakim to add to my 8mm stable. I have 1000+ rounds of Turkish 8mm, but have been warned not to shoot it in the Hakim due to its higher pressures.

What I'm wondering is if its really a problem if the gas port is fully restricted. It makes sense that it could be, as the bolt must still handle the pressure until the mechanism unlocks.

I'd love to use the Turk ammo, but plan to restrict it to my bolt-actions unless I hear that another Hakim shooter has had zero problems using the restricted port setting.



__________________
Sampleman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 10-28-2010, 12:14 AM   #2
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
robocop10mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin,Texas, by God!!
Posts: 10,005
Liked 2687 Times on 1405 Posts
Likes Given: 216

Default

I have always heard the Turk 8mm is too hot for the Hakim. Sound advice as there is a very limited supply of replacement parts for the Hakim (read none). If you were to tweak something, you are screwed.

__________________

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

robocop10mm is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:36 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: lock haven,penna.
Posts: 124
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

sampleman,

i used a press-mounted, collet bullet-pullet (hornady's cam-loc) and dropped the powder charge 10% on about 250 of my turk 8mm (only 2000 rds to go! )...they work ok in my hakim and i have some surplus powder with a burning rate roughly similar to 4895 to play with.

budman

ignorance is fixable, stupidity is forever

__________________
budman46 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Hakim Fisherking General Rifle Discussion 2 06-16-2010 11:23 AM
Hakim 8mm Fisherking General Rifle Discussion 2 06-04-2010 07:47 PM
im about to buy some turk surplus ammo vmonty General Rifle Discussion 18 12-14-2009 09:17 PM
Im not sure if i should shoot these turk 8mm vmonty General Rifle Discussion 3 11-30-2009 05:37 PM



Newest Threads