Turk Ammo in Hakim
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading >

Turk Ammo in Hakim

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 9
Default Turk Ammo in Hakim

I have just picked up a Hakim to add to my 8mm stable. I have 1000+ rounds of Turkish 8mm, but have been warned not to shoot it in the Hakim due to its higher pressures.

What I'm wondering is if its really a problem if the gas port is fully restricted. It makes sense that it could be, as the bolt must still handle the pressure until the mechanism unlocks.

I'd love to use the Turk ammo, but plan to restrict it to my bolt-actions unless I hear that another Hakim shooter has had zero problems using the restricted port setting.

Sampleman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-28-2010, 01:14 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
robocop10mm's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin,Texas, by God!!
Posts: 11,135
Liked 3814 Times on 1947 Posts
Likes Given: 447


I have always heard the Turk 8mm is too hot for the Hakim. Sound advice as there is a very limited supply of replacement parts for the Hakim (read none). If you were to tweak something, you are screwed.
In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball
robocop10mm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:36 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: May 2010
Location: lock haven,penna.
Posts: 124
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts



i used a press-mounted, collet bullet-pullet (hornady's cam-loc) and dropped the powder charge 10% on about 250 of my turk 8mm (only 2000 rds to go! )...they work ok in my hakim and i have some surplus powder with a burning rate roughly similar to 4895 to play with.


ignorance is fixable, stupidity is forever
budman46 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Hakim Fisherking General Rifle Discussion 2 06-16-2010 12:23 PM
Hakim 8mm Fisherking General Rifle Discussion 2 06-04-2010 08:47 PM
im about to buy some turk surplus ammo vmonty General Rifle Discussion 18 12-14-2009 10:17 PM
Im not sure if i should shoot these turk 8mm vmonty General Rifle Discussion 3 11-30-2009 06:37 PM

Newest Threads