Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Trimming and Crimping

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2009, 12:20 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Trimming and Crimping

Specifically 9mm and .45 ACP, and more specifically on a progressive press.

What do you folks do with regards to case length trimming and crimping?

When using my old single stage RCBS press, I would, as a standard practice, trim every case after de-capping and re-sizing regardless of actual length. Then I would set the bullet seating / crimp die for the trimmed case length.

With my new RL-550B I am wondering if I have been overly anal about this (probably - I am an engineer).

I now have the separate crimping dies for the 4th stage of the Dillion, and I have the bullet seating die screwed out 2 turns so as not to crimp as per the Dillon instructions.

How sensitive is the case length to the set point for the crimp die? There is a .010" dfference in the specified "max" and "trim to" case lengths for these two calibers.

I know that you do not want to have excess case length as these cartridges head space on the case rim.

Should I worry about this at all, beyond trimming cases ONLY if they exceed the maximum specified case length? Do you set the crimp die for a "mid-range" case length?

TXnorton

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-20-2009, 01:42 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 2263 Times on 1188 Posts
Likes Given: 155