Is there any "unhealthy" ammo?
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading >

Is there any "unhealthy" ammo?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2010, 05:10 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Is there any "unhealthy" ammo?

I'm still new to firearms and in fact I can finally pick up my first gun in 3 more days. I understand that my local range sells 2 types of ammo: Factory and ammo that they collect from the range and reload themselves. The reloaded is much cheaper and I would suspect better for target shooting because of that.

But my question is, is there any ammo that is "bad" for the gun (other than the wrong size of course)? If I'm going to be putting thousands of rounds through a gun, I don't want it to be causing excessive wear on it, if that makes sense. Also, just out of curiosity, is their reloaded ammo as strong as factory ammo or is it a dumbed down version? Thanks.

Join Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join Today! - Click Here

Old 06-11-2010, 05:40 PM   #2
Liked 6913 Times on 3675 Posts
Likes Given: 520

the stronger the load the more wear it inflicts on the barrel, frame, and internal parts. pressure of the round has a large affect on barrel life. the higher the pressure the shorter the life of the barrel. but its not something most shooters need to worry about as they will probably never fire enough ammo to wear a gun out.
Old 06-11-2010, 05:45 PM   #3
Liked 34 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Some ammunition is corrosive, but is is of early manufacture, prior to 1958 or so..