Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Stupid question from a newb reloader

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2011, 05:00 AM   #21
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2256 Times on 1186 Posts
Likes Given: 154

I have been handloading for over 30 years. I have NEVER had a primer go off during decapping. If you do it slow and smooth, it is unlikely. Unlikely is not the same as 100% sure though. A primer is 3-4 cents. Your emergency room co-pay will likely be $40-$50. How many primers do you have to salvage to pay for the co-pay? To me it is a simple economic question. Mr. Murphy ALWAYS shows up when you least expect it.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

Old 10-13-2011, 06:34 AM   #22
Texas Ranger Fan!
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 16812 Times on 9744 Posts
Likes Given: 43872

i for one believe in Murphy's Law! what can go wrong, will go wrong, at the wrong time. IMO, decapping live primers is a risk not worth taking. either fire it in a weapon, with it pointed in a safe direction, or squeeze the end shut with a pair of pliers and throw it away.

Old 10-13-2011, 08:56 AM   #23

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

If some actor was killed by a primer-only round, I would be very amazed. They almost always have a small amount of powder for the flash/bang.
You ever put a gun up against a piece of sheetrock and fired a primer only round?
I will agree that the primer can propel a projectile quite well, but that projectile must be against the primer flash hole. If you put a plastic "bullet" in the rifling, the primer will barely move it. If you seat the plastic bullet flush at the bottom of the case, it will propel the bullet and dent a magazine at 12 feet.