Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Single-stage blues

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 11:44 AM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 83 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I've been using my Lee 4 hole turret for a couple years now and now gate had to go and post this to make me want something better. I've been wanting a better set up for a while now but haven't been able to swing it. I'll have to keep my eyes open...

If the pain is lacking so is the discipline...

"the only 911 call I need is chambering a round" - Mr. Muller, MO car dealer

Old 04-12-2010, 08:14 PM   #12

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Old 04-12-2010, 08:43 PM   #13
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2688 Times on 1405 Posts
Likes Given: 216

I started loadidng metallic cartridges on a single stage (RCBS) in college. When I got my first "real job" one of my first acquisitions was a Dillon RL450. I still use that same Dillon 26 years later. Dillon's "no BS" guarantee is exactly that. I could not be happier with the investment I made. I load everything from .380 up to .30-06 on the Dillon w/o any problems. If I had the green to get the caliber conversions I would be loading .32 ACP and .45-70 on it.

I would recommend a set of max headspace gauges (From MidwayUSA). Every round I load gets checked.

You will find the length of your .45 cases is not what is causing the loaded rounds from chambering, it is the depth of bullet seating or amount of crimp. I never trim straight walled cases and I do shoot IPSC so reliability is very important to me.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball

Old 04-14-2010, 04:41 PM   #14

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts