Rifle Reloading - Low Grain loads okay?

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Rifle Reloading - Low Grain loads okay?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2009, 02:40 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Rifle Reloading - Low Grain loads okay?

I am completely new to Reloading, but have common sense involved with how reloading works.

My CETME is a blowback oriented semi-auto rifle, and I feel it might benefit very well to lower grain loads of it's .308 winchester rounds. It might be less to clean, and I don't think the rounds need too much push to get far out, especially because I mostly shoot at smaller targets indoors, at ranges that usually don't go over 25 yards. Even with lower grain loads, I will still get the high quality target projectiles, and I only settle for brass (my CETME didn't like steel, and I've noticed steel rounds and other than brass have a bad reputation on the service life of rifles, besides it also heated my rifle up more than normal, but that is a different forum topic, and I tackled that one on this website).

For those of you that have experience with rifle reloading, what kind of advice can you give me about lower grain loads of .308 winchester/other rifle calibers? What general advice can you give me about reloading?

Currently on Tour as Military Instructor in Virginia Beach, VA. Navy Pistol Expert, Navy Shotgun Course Expert, Naval Boarding Team Experience, M60 Boat Gunner, 50 Cal Machine Gun and 25mm Chain Gun Captain. Experienced in various large firearms including the Surface Launched Torpedoes. Own more than 5 personal firearms of every type known.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.