Remington Core-Lok HANDLOADS!!
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Remington Core-Lok HANDLOADS!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2008, 04:13 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Remington Core-Lok HANDLOADS!!

I am just starting to learn how to handload. My buddy who is showing me loads for the 270 Win.(among others). I love my 270,and have always had good results with Remington Core-loks in130 gr.. Since they are the most inexpesive bullets out there,and I like the "on-game"results, That is where we started. I was looking to duplicate factory performance at a cheaper price. I bought new brass(even though I have plenty of once-fired), taylored the OAL to my gun,and went to working up loads with H4831sc. Being new to this, I was surprised at the starting loads lack of recoil(less than My243). We tested a couple of loads that were just a tad above max,but accuracy fell off(nothing bad showing on the primers though),and since I had had enough fun for one day(actually two),I settled on the load that gave the best accuracy(2 grains under max). The part that I cant believe,is the tight group I got. With factory ammo, i would get consistant 3/4" groups. With these handloads, It is less than 1/2". I know that 1/4 of an inch at 100 yds won't make a bit of difference to the deer(My shots are generally less than 200 yds), but not only are the groups tighter,they are more uniformed in shape.
Has anyone else been as pleasantly surprised with their results as I am? I know I am not using a premium bullet,but I do believe "if it ain't broke...",and maybe down the road I will try some, but for now I am sticking with what I got.
Next on the agenda will be my 44 revolver ammo. That's getting way outta hand. Then My 7mm mag. Thanks for letting me vent some of my excitement.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!