Remanufactured Ammo damages pistol
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Remanufactured Ammo damages pistol

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2014, 01:29 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Remanufactured Ammo damages pistol

My student was firing my Sig P938 using 9mm remanufactured ammo from
3-D Inv. Inc. Doniphan NE when the cartridge split open and backfired. It blew the factory grip on the right side to pieces and she was hit in the face by flying debris. Smoke was coming out of the pistol. I had instructed her to wear glasses but she didn't. The brass cartridge, near the base, had a ruptured split in it. I have never seen this before. I am an NRA Pistol Instructor and NC Certified Firearms Instructor, former Law Enforcement. This could have taken her eye out and was a severe example of not wearing safety glasses. I will never again use remanufactured ammo.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-26-2014, 01:51 PM   #2
JTJ
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2011 Times on 1094 Posts
Likes Given: 602

I had a gun wrecked with factory ammo. Apparently a very hot load possibly a double charge on one round in the box. Gun went bang, bang, bang and boom. No squib to plug the barrel. Similar to what you are describing. It can happen so are you going to stop shooting factory loads too? I have shot many thousands of rounds of commercial reloads and stuff I reloaded with out a problem. I will not shoot a reload someone has done in his garage especially my SILs. I have had more screw ups with factory ammo than reloads.

Patron Member NRA