Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Reloading my 45 ammo (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/reloading-my-45-ammo-67420/)

gearhead396 07-01-2012 04:13 AM

Reloading my 45 ammo

Some one mentioned to me I should reload my ammo because I shoot so much and would like to start is this something I can just pick up and what all do I need to by i am a master automotive tech by trade so I assume with a little instruction I can do it any advice

robocop10mm 07-01-2012 04:51 AM

FIRST AND FORMOST buy a good loading maual like the Lyman or the ABC's of reloading. That will give you insight into what you will nee and how it will be done.

Axxe55 07-01-2012 05:37 AM

^^^^^^100%. read and reread the book several times and adhere to all the safety precautions. they are there for good reason. reloading can be a safe and rewarding addition to your shooting if done safely, but can have very bad results if not done properly. i also suggest the same book as Robo suggested, and can usually be found at Amazon.com for less than $15.00. excellent book and good information within it's pages.

JWagner 07-01-2012 05:07 PM

As stated, get a number of reloading manuals. One thing to beware of is that the loading info is not consistent among the manuals and it can change over time, so load to the low end of the specs. And take a look at Youtube; they have some really well done videos. There is a ten-part series about the Dillon RL550 press that is pretty good. I recently started reloading for my 1911 and found that the FMJ rounds worked just fine, but I have some issues with hardcast lead bullets. So, start with FMJ I think.

Rick1967 07-01-2012 05:19 PM