Reloading Issue - 7mm SAUM Ammo
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading >

Reloading Issue - 7mm SAUM Ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2010, 02:23 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Reloading Issue - 7mm SAUM Ammo

I am new to reloading, and am still working on perfecting the process. Well, I prepared my first 20-round lot of reloaded 7mm Remington Short-Action Ultra Magnum (7mm SAUM) ammo and went out to the range a couple of weekends ago with my Remington Model Seven rifle and a box of factory ammo.

I fired the Model Seven with the factory ammo with no problems, and a nice, tight shot group at 50 yards. When I went to fire a couple of reloads, I noticed they ended up several inches below the target. When I fired the third reloaded round I noticed a very slight delay between the firing pin striking the primer and the round firing. This phenomenon did not occur when I fired another factory round, so I concluded it was a problem with my reloads.

Here's the data for the reloads I was using:
Primer: CCI-200 Large Rifle Primer
Powder: Hodgdon H414, 54 Grains
Bullet: Hornady 150 Grain SST

Greatly appreciate any help! Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-27-2010, 03:42 AM   #2

Liked 42 Times on 35 Posts

When your primer is seated all the way it will be slightly recessed in the case head. Not a lot but just enough to catch your finger nail on.