reloading cast bullets with lee loader
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > reloading cast bullets with lee loader

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2010, 06:01 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default reloading cast bullets with lee loader

Friends,

I'm just getting into reloading and I've found this forum to have a wealth of great information. My setup is the most basic of all; a $20 9mm Lee Loader. Here's my question:

When I reload with cast bullets(147 grain, wax-ring, .356), upon pressing the bullet into the freshly sized and reamed case, I always get a ring of lead that gets shaved off the round. As a result, I have to scrape the lead ring off the completed cartridge. Should I continue doing this or should I somehow size/crimp the cartridge after I seat the bullet?

If I just keep loading this way, could my accuracy be suffering?

Thanks for your help

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-12-2010, 12:37 PM   #2

Liked 143 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 766

Chamfer much?

Old 02-12-2010, 03:11 PM   #3

Liked 739 Times on 514 Posts
Likes Given: 770

Quote:
Originally Posted by m72law View Post
Chamfer much?
+1. You need to chamfor the inside of the case mouth.

Freedom is not free. The best of us always leave too soon.

Old 02-12-2010, 04:40 PM   #4
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2944 Times on 1533 Posts
Likes Given: 262

The mouth of the case is not getting belled enough. And, yes, this will adversely effect your accuracy.

In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.