Reloading 223 bullet question
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    


Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading >

Reloading 223 bullet question


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 11:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
noahlanier9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 33
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Reloading 223 bullet question

I'm new to reloading and still trying to figure everything out, and before anyone says anything I am currently waiting for my reloading manual to come in the mail.. In the mean time I'm doing research. My question is, I am using hodgon bl-c(2) powder and want to know if I can use any 223 bullet or can If i can only use what hodgon recommends. Sorry for the noob question just can't seem to find an answer anywhere.


noahlanier9 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 05-03-2013, 11:32 PM   #2
hmh
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
hmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 727
Liked 194 Times on 130 Posts

Default

Bullet choice has alot to do with rifle and barrel. You will have to get some data and load according to bullet weight (to start with) and if you are shooting out of an AR platform you cannot use some of the heavier bullets unless you want to single shoot it.


hmh is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 01:49 AM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,828
Liked 1421 Times on 767 Posts
Likes Given: 798

Default

You can use data of same weight bullet of similar construction from different manufacturers , just start your load development at "Start" charge and work up.

BTW, do not use .223 bullets in the 223 Rem. cartridge, the proper bullet for the 223 is .224 inches.
mseric is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:21 AM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
locutus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 11,697
Liked 8165 Times on 4466 Posts
Likes Given: 7948

Default

If the manual lists, for example, a 55 grain hollow point, you can use the same data for a 55 grain FMJ or a 55 grain soft point.
__________________
I didn't fight to defend your freedom so you could vote to take away mine.
locutus is offline  
axxe55 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:04 AM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
noahlanier9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 33
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by locutus
If the manual lists, for example, a 55 grain hollow point, you can use the same data for a 55 grain FMJ or a 55 grain soft point.
That's exactly what I was looking for. In hodgons website for my powder and a 55gr bullet (im thinking this will probley be best since i have 16 inch 1:8 twist barrel) they list I need a 55gr sfire bullet. They didn't have anything listed for a fmj, and thats what I prefer to start reloading with
noahlanier9 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 05:12 AM   #6
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Liked 22314 Times on 12477 Posts
Likes Given: 53672

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noahlanier9 View Post
That's exactly what I was looking for. In hodgons website for my powder and a 55gr bullet (im thinking this will probley be best since i have 16 inch 1:8 twist barrel) they list I need a 55gr sfire bullet. They didn't have anything listed for a fmj, and thats what I prefer to start reloading with
a lot of reloading data books use their own bullets. but as Locutus said, the powder charge is pretty much dependent upon the weight of the bullet. there are exceptions to this such as going to full lead cast bullets. the powder charges can be somewhat different.

get a couple of different load data books and compare powder charges.
Axxe55 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:01 AM   #7
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,828
Liked 1421 Times on 767 Posts
Likes Given: 798

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noahlanier9 View Post
That's exactly what I was looking for. In hodgons website for my powder and a 55gr bullet (im thinking this will probley be best since i have 16 inch 1:8 twist barrel) they list I need a 55gr sfire bullet. They didn't have anything listed for a fmj, and thats what I prefer to start reloading with
This is what is meant by "same weight of similar construction". The Hodgdon data lists four(4) different 55gr bullet types. The SFIRE stands for "Sinterfire", a Frangible bullet and it's data differs from the standard jacketed bullets.

If you are going to load FMJ bullets you should use Hodgdon's data for a bullet of "similar construction" and that would be their 55gr SPR SP which stands for Speer Soft Point. Note the differences between the SFIRE data, the BARNES all copper data and the SP data.

http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp
mseric is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 12:03 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
aandabooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,592
Liked 355 Times on 212 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noahlanier9 View Post
That's exactly what I was looking for. In hodgons website for my powder and a 55gr bullet (im thinking this will probley be best since i have 16 inch 1:8 twist barrel) they list I need a 55gr sfire bullet. They didn't have anything listed for a fmj, and thats what I prefer to start reloading with
I have the same barrel and I run 62gr Speer FMJ. They shoot nicely and group a bit tighter than 55gr. I use 53-55gr Hornady in my bolt gun with a 1:12 twist. I load for both guns using Tac.
aandabooks is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 01:30 PM   #9
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
robocop10mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin,Texas, by God!!
Posts: 10,923
Liked 3573 Times on 1835 Posts
Likes Given: 396

Default

Remember, ANY change in component means you have to reduce and develop a new load!

Similar construct bullets can use the same data for LOAD DEVELOPMENT. Once you work up a load with (for example) a Hornaday 55 gr SP and you change to a 55 gr FMJ, you cannot just switch bullets and go (if you are at or very near a max load).

I have developed loads that are a grain or two under max loads and switch bullets w/o any problems.


__________________
In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball
robocop10mm is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
bullet seating question habhammer Ammunition & Reloading 3 01-18-2013 06:31 PM
Question about a bullet fouad General Rifle Discussion 17 01-14-2013 03:44 AM
bullet metric question Pekin7 Ammunition & Reloading 10 07-29-2012 03:48 AM
357 Mag bullet question spittinfire Ammunition & Reloading 11 11-06-2009 12:33 PM
question about bullet dia. supergus Ammunition & Reloading 13 08-20-2009 02:31 AM



Newest Threads