Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Reloading 223 bullet question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 11:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Reloading 223 bullet question

I'm new to reloading and still trying to figure everything out, and before anyone says anything I am currently waiting for my reloading manual to come in the mail.. In the mean time I'm doing research. My question is, I am using hodgon bl-c(2) powder and want to know if I can use any 223 bullet or can If i can only use what hodgon recommends. Sorry for the noob question just can't seem to find an answer anywhere.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-03-2013, 11:32 PM   #2
hmh

Liked 140 Times on 96 Posts

Bullet choice has alot to do with rifle and barrel. You will have to get some data and load according to bullet weight (to start with) and if you are shooting out of an AR platform you cannot use some of the heavier bullets unless you want to single shoot it.

Old 05-04-2013, 01:49 AM   #3

Liked 495 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 244

You can use data of same weight bullet of similar construction from different manufacturers , just start your load development at "Start" charge and work up.

BTW, do not use .223 bullets in the 223 Rem. cartridge, the proper bullet for the 223 is .224 inches.

Old 05-04-2013, 02:21 AM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 5075 Times on 2887 Posts
Likes Given: 4239

If the manual lists, for example, a 55 grain hollow point, you can use the same data for a 55 grain FMJ or a 55 grain soft point.