Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Re-sizing brass foul up

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2009, 02:44 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 302 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default Re-sizing brass foul up

So I've been doing massive .308 Winchester brass preperation and reloading lately as I can get primers powder and grain weight bullets for my loads. I have near a 33 gallon garbage can of once fired .308 Winchester and 7.62X51mm. brass I've been saving since 1992.

I'll decap. vibratory clean, inspect, measure, trim (when necessary), de-burr fire slot and neck,and vibratory clean again 500 to 600 rounds of brass at a time. Quite a long term project especially when I'm shooting up my reload ammo at the range.

Reguardless, the last batch of brass I resized, in about the last 120 peices of brass resized, the die must have got a small piece of dirt or grime in it and lightly scratched the shoulder of the brass I resized. (my bad)

I resized one other piece of brass after I found it out and it was scratched the same way. I then thouroughly cleaned the die and the next piece of brass was perfect.

I'm tempted to destroy these resized shells, but would really rather not do so if I dont have to. The scratch in the shoulder is barely noticeable with a fingernail and I dont see any shoulder height anomolies with a dial indicator guage as I measure around the shoulder of the case.

I've never had this happen to me before and it is my fault and I am somewhat stumped what to do with these scratched on the shoulder pieces of resized brass.

So the question is: Should I pinch these pieces of scratched brass with a pair of pliers and throw away? Or: Should I finish reloading them and shoot them?

I think if I reload they will be junk for accuracy.

Last edited by mrm14; 09-10-2009 at 02:46 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!