Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   RCBS Die Question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/rcbs-die-question-12191/)

N2Abyss 03-25-2009 05:46 AM

RCBS Die Question

Recently purchased an "RCBS 4 DIE SET 45 ACP Group B, Part # 18913"
at an auction, I'm new to reloading and can't find any information on these particular dies. I've searched at the RCBS web site but that part # doesn't seem valid. The dies are stamped - ACP.SIZE #1 74, 45 ACP.NC.SEAT#3 74, 45 ACP. CR #4 74, And the fourth die (only marked at top of adjustment knob)
RCBS ACP 45
Every where I look RCBS doesn't seem to offer this "4 DIE SET" did I buy antiquated equipment??
Any help in a description of the sequence and purpose of each die would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
N2

c3shooter 03-25-2009 04:04 PM

Antiquated? No. Updated by a new model? Possibly. Best shot is to call RCBS, and ask if they have instruction sheet for model you have. Good folks. I broke a de-capping pin on one of my older dies, bought new pins, found they were wrong size, call RCBS. Gave them numbers. Oh, new design- new pins won't work on older dies. So they sent me- FREE- the new decapping pin holder for my dies.

cpttango30 03-25-2009 06:20 PM

ACP.SIZE #1 74 this is your sizer die.

45 ACP.NC.SEAT#3 74 this is your seater die. Look inside to see what kind of bullet it is set up for.

45 ACP. CR #4 74 This is a crimp die.

RCBS ACP 45 not sure on this one. can you take some pictures of it and then take it apart and take pictures of it. Might be able to help you some more if I can see it.

robocop10mm 03-25-2009 07:08 PM

Expander die? 4 die sets usually are 1- Size/de-cap, 2- Expand (flare), 3- seater, 4- taper crimp.

cpttango30 03-25-2009 07:43 PM