Primers - Page 2

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Primers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 12:28 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I am new to reloading so some might think this question is stupid. What kind of primer does a 223 take large rifle or small rifle, I'm leaning towards small primer but some one told me at gander mountain that its a large rifle primer?

Old 01-15-2013, 01:40 PM   #12

Liked 460 Times on 267 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by assualtready070
I am new to reloading so some might think this question is stupid. What kind of primer does a 223 take large rifle or small rifle, I'm leaning towards small primer but some one told me at gander mountain that its a large rifle primer?
Small rifle

Old 01-15-2013, 01:41 PM   #13
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5662 Times on 2957 Posts
Likes Given: 374

223/556 uses small rifle primers. If your loading for an ar15 do not use benchrest type primers as the floating firing pin in a ar15 can easily set those off on chambering a round and can cause slamfires.

If you use a titanium firing pin in your ar15 any small rifle primer can be used. Steel pin do not use benchrest primers

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

Old 01-15-2013, 06:34 PM   #14
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 5703 Times on 3224 Posts
Likes Given: 5123

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM View Post
223/556 uses small rifle primers. If your loading for an ar15 do not use benchrest type primers as the floating firing pin in a ar15 can easily set those off on chambering a round and can cause slamfires.