Powder Types
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading >

Powder Types

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2009, 04:18 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Powder Types

I'm new to reloading. Am starting with 9mm Luger ammo. I have a Lee powder measuring device. It appears that powder is available in several forms, (1) circular flakes or wafers, (2) small cylinders and (3) small spheres or flattened spheres. Since some of these forms might plug up the measuring cylinders, some care probably should be taken when selecting a powder, especially since the individual powder load can be pretty small.

Trouble is, this type of form information doesn't seem to readily available and I think I should probably be looking for spherical powders.

Does anyone know of reference material or a web based source that describes the powders available on the market by their basic type, regardless of manufacturer?

Thanks for your help.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-23-2009, 04:51 PM   #2

Powder Burn Rates

I would focus more on what types (specific designations) are suitable for your needs rather than whether it's ball or flake. Your reloading manual will give acceptable powders for a certain load along with the charge weight. Look at what powders are recommended then determine what fits your needs.