Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > powder is powder, right?

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2013, 10:20 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default powder is powder, right?

Obviously, I'm new to reloading as will become clear from my story.

I have been collecting the required materials for some time, learning a little as I go along. I had called a local store (don't want a libel lawsuit so I will not name it) and asked about primers and powder. They informed me that their shipments arrive on Friday mornings before the store opens and suggested that I be there very early. When I arrived, I was VERY surprised to see two very long lines of people (I estimate nearly 100 people total) so I joined one. A few minutes before the store was scheduled to open, an employee came out and informed us that one line was for firearms and the other was for powder, primers, and bullets for reloading. Luckily, I was in the correct line. When it was my turn, I asked for primers, powder and bullets. The sales person asked "What kind?" I said for .45 ACP. They turned to ask someone else ".45 ACP takes large pistol primers, right?". That person said "I think so." So I received a box of large pistol primers and a box of .45 cal round nose bullets. He then asked "What kind of powder?" I answered "I'd like a large container." He said "We have 8 lb. containers." I said "That's fine." He handed me the powder and I went to another line to pay for it all.

When I got home, I read the labels. The primers and bullets seem OK, but the powder was labeled as "Premium Ultra-clean Shotshell Powder". Below was another line stating "Good for pistols, too."

My question is simple. Did I get ******* or can I use this powder in .45 ACP reloading?

I am NOT so concerned with 1/4 inch repeatability for shot groups as simply good functioning cheap ammunition for pleasure shooting.