Please help me get into reloading.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Please help me get into reloading.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2014, 10:03 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Please help me get into reloading.

Hi. I'm new to this forum. My good friend Rustyshackleford101 referred me here. I am a longtime shooter but I am new to handloading. I've just gotten into it,and I have some questions. 1) I know that I should "cross reference" data sources, but how do I go about this? The starting loads in some manuals are close to the max loads in others! 2) What is "working up a load", why is it done, and how do I do it? 3) This ones kind of tricky to word. Can I use data for one bullet on another as long as the other one is the same weight and diameter? For example, my Lyman manual has data for 158gr LSWC for .38 special. They can be only made with lyman moulds. I have Magtech 158gr LSWC bullets. Could I use the lyman data (for their propriety cast bullet) with my other cast bullets? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks a lot.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-17-2014, 10:32 PM   #2

Liked 65 Times on 36 Posts

Default Reloading

GC,

Give us a few more details:
Your wanting to load 158 cast for a 38 Special or a 357M?
What handgun you loading for?
What primer and powder do you plan to use?

Old 03-17-2014, 10:32 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 182 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 497