People Taking Advantage of the Ammo Shortage
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > People Taking Advantage of the Ammo Shortage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 10:07 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default People Taking Advantage of the Ammo Shortage

Hey y'all,

I'm new to FirearmsTalk but thought I'd pick your brains to see if an issue that I'm experiencing in AZ is happening in other places as well. By way of introduction: I'm a college senior and got into firearms and shooting about a year and a half ago. I have a couple of pistols but unfortunately I didn't have the money at the time to purchase an AR-15 back when they were in-stock and reasonably priced.

Ammo is practically non-existent where I live (which I'm sure is true all over the country). After shooting the breeze with a Walmart employee a little over a week ago, I got him to tell me that they receive their trucks around midnight, and if they get any ammo in it's usually gone within a matter of hours. Being somewhat of a night person, I've been calling this walmart (open 24 hours) around 12:30 -1:00a.m. but every time I get the same bad news.

After looking on websites like Armslist and others like it, it seems like the same guys (same usernames) are posting sales ads for ammo at ridiculously inflated prices. At first I thought that maybe these guys were just reposting, but after looking into their ads I noticed that they had boxes from different manufacturers with each new post (i.e. they were selling Winchester white box one day and Remington UMC the next) So I know that these guys are finding ammo somewhat consistently.

I saw a guy post on another forum that he went to a store (I think it was