Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Old/Questionable Ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2009, 04:08 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Old/Questionable Ammo

Hey All-
Although I've owned rifles,handguns & been a woodsman for over 20 yrs, I'm a novice compared to many on this forum. I mostly read & learn here, chime in when I can.

I was reading the debate in the topic "tumbling live ammo".
I was surprised to read that some would use old/questionable ammo.
I'm always the type because of my inexperience with ammo that if it was old/questionable; Stay Away From It!! Am I wrong in this belief?

I've heard people talk at gun ranges, gun shows, etc., that they have 20 yr. old ammo at home. When I ask them "You really trust 20 year old ammo?" They answer with no great concern. When I've been offered corroded ammo, I've refused it. Tarnished is one thing,but corroded is another.

My Questions;
1. With ammo becoming harder to find, am I wrong in my assumptions?
2. Also how can one check if old ammo is safe to use?
3. If ammo is corroded can it be cleaned safely?

sorry for all the noob questions,
your friend, UnderFire

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-10-2009, 07:21 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2686 Times on 1405 Posts
Likes Given: 216