Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Old/Questionable Ammo (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/old-questionable-ammo-13745/)

UnderFire 05-10-2009 04:08 PM

Old/Questionable Ammo

Hey All-
Although I've owned rifles,handguns & been a woodsman for over 20 yrs, I'm a novice compared to many on this forum. I mostly read & learn here, chime in when I can.

I was reading the debate in the topic "tumbling live ammo".
I was surprised to read that some would use old/questionable ammo.
I'm always the type because of my inexperience with ammo that if it was old/questionable; Stay Away From It!! Am I wrong in this belief?

I've heard people talk at gun ranges, gun shows, etc., that they have 20 yr. old ammo at home. When I ask them "You really trust 20 year old ammo?" They answer with no great concern. When I've been offered corroded ammo, I've refused it. Tarnished is one thing,but corroded is another.

My Questions;
1. With ammo becoming harder to find, am I wrong in my assumptions?
2. Also how can one check if old ammo is safe to use?
3. If ammo is corroded can it be cleaned safely?

sorry for all the noob questions,
your friend, UnderFire

robocop10mm 05-10-2009 07:21 PM

Old ammo is not necessarily bad ammo. If it was kept under good conditions it will be good for 100 + years. If it was not kept under good conditions, the worst it will do is fail to fire (maybe squib). The primer is the component that is most succeptable to degredation. If the primer degrades, it simply will not go bang.

Corroded ammo is another thing entirely. The corosion will weaken the case and make it more likely to fail. Chances are if the case is badly corroded, the primer is bad anyway.