Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Newbie reloading (case length question)

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2013, 08:36 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25-5 View Post
For a plinker and someone who is dumping the powder, you are very anal about case length. I suppose "professor" explains that. Get away from the computer and do some shooting and reloading. And take some measurements.
Being new on this forum, I can't say that it's easy to get my question answered. Perhaps I'm being "anal", then again I may be trying to learn. I'm new at this. I DON'T have much knowledge.....that's why I am asking. This thread is 2 pages now, and while everyone knows more about this subject (I assume so, anyway) I haven't had my question answered.

I have a Hornady progressive press. All the manuals, Youtube videos, etc seem to suggest that cases can be loaded progressively. With the exception of the Auto-trim (a Dillon product I don't have), there seems to be no way to trim efficiently during the process. I asked about the case "growth" during re-sizing....I got an answer telling me it depends on powder and individual combustion chamber. That doesn't answer my question now, does it? I asked again, this time politely pointing out that the "lengthening" I was concerned with was that which happens during re-sizing (NOT firing). Now, apparently I am being "anal" ? Yet, still no answer to my freaking question. I can laugh about it with the best of them.