Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   newbie to reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/newbie-reloading-35282/)

runfast 12-07-2010 02:59 AM

newbie to reloading

hello to the forum i am new to reloading. i have a lee hand press and lee 4 pc. die set also a rcbs beam scale. i just finished loading ten 40 s&w rounds. the components are:

1. once fired win. caseings.

2. win sp primers

3. win 231 powder = 5.0 gr.

4. hornady 155 gr. xtphp.

5. mol = 1.135

i will be shooting a glock 27. i checked the rounds length by field stripping the gun and placeing each round in the chamber per this forums advice. i put a factory round in the chamber first to see what it looked like and all the reloads looked the same way. as far as belling out the caseing, how much! how far will the bullet go down in the caseing? i am sure i forgot to ask somehting, but if something sounds wrong here please let me know. thanks

Logan2302 12-07-2010 04:30 AM

Please start with this link!

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/new-reloading-look-here-15130/

cpttango30 12-07-2010 10:58 AM

Welcome.

First I must warn you that you should not fire reloads in teh glock factory barrel due to the unsupported chamber.

Quote:

Handloaded/reloaded or re-manufactured ammunition may be unsafe and voids factory warranty.
I don't know if this is out of the Glock manual because it is here on this website.
Looks like your load specs are ok you are on the very low end of the load spectrum by Hoadgdon online guide. It will vary with each loading manual though. You may need to bump it to 5.5gr if you get any stove pipes or FTE.

As far as bullet seating depth. There should be a mark around the bullet if not never fear load to the OAL (Over All Length) specs in a current reloading manual and you should have no problem.