Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   newbie to reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/newbie-reloading-35280/)

runfast 12-07-2010 02:50 AM

newbie to reloading

hello to the forum i am new to reloading. i have a lee hand press and lee 4 pc. die set also a rcbs beam scale. i just finished loading ten 40 s&w rounds. the components are:

1. once fired win. caseings.

2. win sp primers

3. win 231 powder = 5.0 gr.

4. hornady 155 gr. xtphp.

5. mol = 1.135

i will be shooting a glock 27. i checked the rounds length by field stripping the gun and placeing each round in the chamber per this forums advice. i put a factory round in the chamber first to see what it looked like and all the reloads looked the same way. as far as belling out the caseing, how much! how far will the bullet go down in the caseing? i am sure i forgot to ask somehting, but if something sounds wrong here please let me know. thanks

robocop10mm 12-08-2010 02:22 PM

Bell the case just enough for the heel of the bullet to sit just inside the case. If it sits down more than a couple of thousandths of an inch, you will be over working the brass and will reduce the case life.

For a jacketed bullet, bell the case just enough to have a visible flare to the mouth. If you have seating issues, bell a LITTLE more til you get good results.

birdie 12-08-2010 02:58 PM