New To Reloading Questions - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > New To Reloading Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2008, 09:14 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

The Lee Trimmer is great - not the spring loaded one with the pull-cord - that is crap. They sell a cutter & lockstud assembly for under $10 and then you buy the individual shell holders and pilots for each caliber - that costs an additional $3 or 4. It's a manual trimmer like working a screw-driver, the nice thing about it is you can chuck it in a drill press or power driver to really speed things up - and it does the same thing as trimmers costing 10 times as much. I've been trimming cases with it for 15 years and the cutter/lockstud have never worn.

Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body - USMC
"Qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum"

Old 07-25-2008, 02:29 AM   #12

Default soon to be reloader numbers cruncher

Am poor and have been planning to get into reloading for some time, and have been to various stores keeping track of componets and prices. One thing to do is sit down and study a whole bunch of powder and projectile and barrel length CUP reloading charts. Find your same barrel length and case brand charts to start from.

Another thing is count the trips to the store as part of the cost. Gas money is now a serious factor in any thing nowadays. Catching a ride to the store and checking prices, taking notes, comparing to other stores and making purchase plans for maximum savings.

Another thing is save up as much as you can before every purchase, and make one trip and buy what ever you need as much as possible. Just basic economics that you probably already know , but this will drop per round cost as much as possible, this makes it all the more fun and rewarding. I love ebay, but this is stuff i would not want to buy from some stranger, unless NIB.