Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   need some grades,help (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/need-some-grades-help-85663/)

alard17 03-03-2013 08:56 AM

need some grades,help

HI all,
I'm an engineering student and I have choosen a reloading press and moulds to build as a project for my semester project, I decided to make the moulds for 7.62 by 39 which I thik is gonna be much easier to machine but there is a small proplem because I am supposed to make the moulds by try and mistake which is a poring inaccurate process and I can't leave my millitary college for any reason so I'm cheating now .
what I hope you guys will help me with is to send me (if possiple) the blueprints of the moulds or any link that could help me with this project
accuracy is my motto / don't let me down

mey the grades be with me

kaido 03-03-2013 09:11 AM

Do you just have to make a mould for the actual bullet it's self or do you need one for the bullet and the case?

And just to be sure, we're talking about an object you would pour a hot liquid into to have it solidify into a sold of the shape you are making?

c3shooter 03-03-2013 10:34 AM

To affirm what he said up there ^^^-

When you are casting bullets (the projectile), you pour molten metal into a MOLD.

When you are reloading a fired cartridge (cartridge case, primer, powder, bullet) you use a DIE to draw the metal cartridge case back to shape, to remove the fired primer, seat a fresh primer, and in some cases, to crimp the neck of the case onto the bullet.

Depending on the cartridge, there may be 2,3 or 4 dies in a set. Sounds like you are looking mainly at a SIZING DIE. These are made of hardened steel or carbide for wear. Internal dimensions are the external dimensions of the cartridge case. Those vary from one caliber to another.