Misfires?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Misfires?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2011, 02:04 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Misfires?

Let me start by saying I am new to reloading and any help is appreciated. I recently purchased some reloading equipment and managed to make some .223 rounds for my mini last night however my tumbler is not in yet so I did not tumble my brass.

So anyway here is what I did

-Trimmed the cases (i found the cases would stick in my press if I did not do this)
-cleaned the inside of the neck with a brass brush from my gun cleaning kit
-deprimed/resized
-Trimmed
-inspected the case inside and out
-cleaned the primer pocket with a small tool (there is still a small amount of black left over but I did not believe it was enough to stop it from firing)
-made sure all the flash holes were clear
-primed with federal small rifle primers, with hornady's hand primer
-measured my powder as per my manual
-seated the bullet as per my manual

however after all of this the 5 rounds I made to try misfired, there was a firing pin mark in all 5 aswell, I know the gun is not at fault as I fired 5 rounds of factory ammo right after trying this without problem.

Could my problem be that there was small amounts of case lube still in the case when I added the powder? Would this cause the powder to not fire?

The primer was not seated in far enough? (they were atleast flush with the case)?

The primer pocket was not clean enough? Does this have to be perfectly clean for it to work?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.