Misfire question - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Misfire question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 04:18 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Trez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 3-P
Posts: 3,858
Liked 899 Times on 573 Posts
Likes Given: 1016

Default

Im new to reloading myself, but it sounds to me like you may of had some lube / oil in the case.. Ive never seen powder clump like that...
Maybe try a primer in a empty case, to see if the primer is the problem.
Make a couple of more rounds and make sure that the inside of the case is clean and dry.... Thats what I would suggest...
__________________
Quote:
...... I suffer from a very rare genetic defect that causes me to be sympathetic toward the International cause. There is no cure.
Trez is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:37 PM   #12
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
robocop10mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin,Texas, by God!!
Posts: 10,740
Liked 3358 Times on 1739 Posts
Likes Given: 354

Default

If you are using using the One-Shot case lube, are you lubing the cases while they sit in the loading blocks as pictured? If so, you may be getting some puddling in the bottom of the case. I prefer to resize/decap then clean again to make sure there is no lube in or on the case. If you proceed directly from resize to re prime, powder charge, seat bullet, then wipe down, that is probably the source of the problem.
__________________
In life, strive to take the high road....It offers a better field of fire.
"Robo is right" Fuzzball
robocop10mm is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 05:35 PM   #13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ArmyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Modesto,California
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robocop10mm
If you are using using the One-Shot case lube, are you lubing the cases while they sit in the loading blocks as pictured? If so, you may be getting some puddling in the bottom of the case. I prefer to resize/decap then clean again to make sure there is no lube in or on the case. If you proceed directly from resize to re prime, powder charge, seat bullet, then wipe down, that is probably the source of the problem.
I have been lubing the cases in the blocks as pictured. I will now start cleaning the cases again before I prime, charge, and seat the bullets. If I'm getting contamination in there hopefully that is the reason so it can be fixed.
ArmyGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 09:58 PM   #14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
hiwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cleator,AZ
Posts: 3,554
Liked 835 Times on 536 Posts
Likes Given: 254

Default

A couple of things. First your reloading bench is to organized and not messy enough. That is an easy fix. Your storage of components is fine. The powder clumping is not happening in the can but in the cartridge. It has to be getting contaminated during the loading process. Just before you load take a couple of the cases and a clean Kleenx and wipe the primer pocket and the inside of the case. It should be dry. I'm sorry but I think its you - somehow you are contaminating the case. Of coarse I could be wrong.
__________________
Just walking on the edge of of my grave.
hiwall is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 10:43 PM   #15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ArmyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Modesto,California
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiwall
A couple of things. First your reloading bench is to organized and not messy enough. That is an easy fix. Your storage of components is fine. The powder clumping is not happening in the can but in the cartridge. It has to be getting contaminated during the loading process. Just before you load take a couple of the cases and a clean Kleenx and wipe the primer pocket and the inside of the case. It should be dry. I'm sorry but I think its you - somehow you are contaminating the case. Of coarse I could be wrong.
More mess huh, check I can fully accept that I'm the problem, especially since I'm new to reloading. I just want to figure out what I can do different so I can work on preventing problems in the future. I will definitely work on making sure the cases are completely dry before I prime and charge them from now on.
ArmyGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:09 PM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jpattersonnh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South central,NH
Posts: 5,171
Liked 773 Times on 540 Posts
Likes Given: 842

Default

This is why I still use a pad w/ lube!
__________________
Freedom is not free. The best of us always leave too soon.
jpattersonnh is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:56 PM   #17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rick1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clifton,Colorado
Posts: 4,516
Liked 2143 Times on 1175 Posts
Likes Given: 1390

Default

I second that the powder is getting contaminated. I have never seen powder clump like that. I have taken apart old surplus WWII ammo that had not been properly stored. The powder was still in its original state.
__________________
Romans 1:16 I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.
Rick1967 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:37 AM   #18
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ArmyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Modesto,California
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpattersonnh
This is why I still use a pad w/ lube!
Yeah, I got a pad with the kit I bought. I was just listening to the guy that sold me the kit, he said he used the spray lube.
ArmyGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:40 AM   #19
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ArmyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Modesto,California
Posts: 112
Default

Here is another question that I'm curious about. If I screw up and have to remove a new primer, can it be reused? Or is it ruined by having to push it out like a used one.
ArmyGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 02:30 AM   #20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
hiwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cleator,AZ
Posts: 3,554
Liked 835 Times on 536 Posts
Likes Given: 254

Default

"Here is another question that I'm curious about. If I screw up and have to remove a new primer, can it be reused? Or is it ruined by having to push it out like a used one. "

Never reuse. Its only 2 or 3 cents
__________________
Just walking on the edge of of my grave.
hiwall is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Misfire procedure? DougG Training & Safety 13 11-30-2010 03:17 AM
.243 win load question and powder question Mantids88 Ammunition & Reloading 8 10-16-2010 11:55 PM
I had a misfire today, patrilogical General Shotgun Discussion 7 02-04-2010 12:02 PM
Smith & Wesson recalls guns that could misfire sculker The Club House 3 02-26-2009 06:27 PM



Newest Threads