Misfire question - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Misfire question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 04:18 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 899 Times on 573 Posts
Likes Given: 1016

Im new to reloading myself, but it sounds to me like you may of had some lube / oil in the case.. Ive never seen powder clump like that...
Maybe try a primer in a empty case, to see if the primer is the problem.
Make a couple of more rounds and make sure that the inside of the case is clean and dry.... Thats what I would suggest...

Old 10-01-2011, 04:37 PM   #12
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 3358 Times on 1739 Posts
Likes Given: 354

If you are using using the One-Shot case lube, are you lubing the cases while they sit in the loading blocks as pictured? If so, you may be getting some puddling in the bottom of the case. I prefer to resize/decap then clean again to make sure there is no lube in or on the case. If you proceed directly from resize to re prime, powder charge, seat bullet, then wipe down, that is probably the source of the problem.

Old 10-01-2011, 05:35 PM   #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by robocop10mm
If you are using using the One-Shot case lube, are you lubing the cases while they sit in the loading blocks as pictured? If so, you may be getting some puddling in the bottom of the case. I prefer to resize/decap then clean again to make sure there is no lube in or on the case. If you proceed directly from resize to re prime, powder charge, seat bullet, then wipe down, that is probably the source of the problem.
I have been lubing the cases in the blocks as pictured. I will now start cleaning the cases again before I prime, charge, and seat the bullets. If I'm getting contamination in there hopefully that is the reason so it can be fixed.

Old 10-01-2011, 09:58 PM   #14