Mil-spec FMJ vs Civ FMJ and TMJ vs CMJ
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Mil-spec FMJ vs Civ FMJ and TMJ vs CMJ

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2014, 07:05 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Mil-spec FMJ vs Civ FMJ and TMJ vs CMJ

Hello, users! This is my first time on in a long while (due mainly to my own lack of knowledge and desire to better acquaint myself with firearms in general) and what has brought me back is the lack of information, and worse yet, MISinformation, about the differences between these rounds around the interweb.

Now, of course, FMJ's (or at least civ-spec) have exposed lead on the ass-end of munitions whereas TMJ's do not, meaning that TMJ's are more user-friendly in terms of lead poisoning but this is about as far as i have been able to get in my research.

i have read that Mil and Civ spec FMJ's differ in terms of Mil having generally thicker jackets and more uniform builds while more closely resembling a standard TMJ in terms of modeling (due to Gen Convention) but i don't know how much of that is true.

As for TMJ vs CMJ, is there a difference at all? Are they the same beast under different names?

Also; ballistics, reliability, quality, and overall performance comparisons would be swell~

Thank you in advance for all of the help, friends!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-25-2014, 10:01 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5921 Times on 3092 Posts
Likes Given: 416

depends on who is making the bullet.