Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   Methods for keeping track of brass (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/methods-keeping-track-brass-83870/)

aandabooks 02-10-2013 03:17 AM

Methods for keeping track of brass

Anybody got any methods that they use to keep track of what reloading their brass is on?

Since I'm new to reloading almost all of my brass is currently once fired. Some of the .45 has been fired twice. I've been keeping brass in coffee cans but if I fire more factory loads, I would have to start more cas to keep the brass seperate.

Is this something that others worry about or does everybody just lump it all together? I want to be able to keep track of when my brass should be reaching the end of its usable life.

gr8oldguy 02-10-2013 03:31 AM

I use to keep up with how many times I reloaded brass. All I do now is toss the brass when it starts looking worn out. I've been reloading for years and that's my approach. Keep in mind, my reloads are for target practice. I don't hunt and all my conceal carry ammo is factory. I've never had an issue with any of my reloads, they go bang when they should and cycle fine in my autos. Good luck.

JonM 02-10-2013 04:20 AM

Once you have some experience you can tell when seating a bullet that its time for the bottleneck rifle brass to be annealed. If you dont anneal it it will split at the neck.

I dont know what the limit on loading pistol brass is. Ive got some 45acp brass that has been in constant use since about 1995.

c3shooter 02-10-2013 10:48 AM