Looking to start reloading
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Looking to start reloading

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2014, 07:59 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Looking to start reloading

Hey guys, I've been reading through a bunch of threads and have read all of the stickies, as well as watched a bunch of reloading YouTube videos. I'm an Engineer, mechanically inclined, and don't mind "fiddling" as long as it's worth it. I'm also of the persuasion of "buy nice or buy twice."

I only have two calibers I intend to reload, and they're "high capacity" calibers: 9mm and .223/5.56. I'm not doing any accurate target shooting, just putting holes in paper. I'm trying to get started in IPSC/IDPA/ZSA/3Gun type stuff and I expect to need a larger amount of ammo. The reason I want to reload is partially for cost and partially for availability. If something bad happens and Uncle Sam starts banning stuff and people geek out, I'm not ready to give up shooting. I went nearly a year without firing a shot because of complete lack of ammo.

So, I've pretty much decided on a Progressive Press. One thing that's got me teetering is the amount of "peripherals" I'd need to get started. Besides a Progressive Press kit and consumables (powder, brass, primer, bullets), what else is a necessity for reloading? Is there a reason to talk me out of reloading or a Progressive Press?

"The laws that forbid the carrying of arms, disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes." - Thomas Jefferson

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.