Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Lee collet dies Or full length resizing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 12:44 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 20 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Lee collet dies Or full length resizing

G'day fellas

As you all may be aware I'm a novice when it comes to reloading....I'm in the process of reloading once fired 308 brass and ready to purchase some dies,I have looked at the lee deluxe die set which features 1 collet die,1 full length resizing die and a seating die,I understand that buy neck sizing only you achieve more reloads and supposingly create better accuracy as opposed to full length resizing.... Some people at the range I go to swear by full length sizing there brass and others swear by neck sizing only....I'm confused as to what is better and why....could someone please elaborate on what's more suitable in the reloading world or send me a private message....whatever it takes......cheers

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-20-2013, 01:08 AM   #2

Liked 16 Times on 12 Posts

This is a widely debated subject. I personally neck size for all my single shot and bolt guns. Neck sizing has proven to be more accurate in most of my firearms. It also doesn't work your brass as much a full length sizer.

Last edited by kingrider; 06-20-2013 at 01:11 AM.

Old 06-20-2013, 03:45 AM   #3

Liked 494 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 244

It is one of those, what works for me and mine may or may not work for you and yours.