Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Ammunition & Reloading (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/)
-   -   How much brass to gear up for new caliber? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f30/how-much-brass-gear-up-new-caliber-80469/)

aandabooks 01-06-2013 01:39 AM

How much brass to gear up for new caliber?

I found about 150 rounds of brass in .223 that I forgot I had picked up at the range over the summer. This will go with about 200 rounds of what I have picked up from shooting the new AR.

What do most of you consider to be the minimum that you'll buy for a new caliber? I'm just getting started on .45ACP and had thought 9mm was going to be next. I'll have to get a trimmer but that was in my future anyway.

Also found about 50 rounds of .308 but I don't have a firearm in that caliber.

texaswoodworker 01-06-2013 03:14 AM

Personally, I want to eventually reload for every caliber I use, but just going by how much brass I have, a couple hundred rounds would get me started.

Brass can be reloaded multiple times, and it can last awhile depending how what you load it with, and how you load it. I think .223 will last through 5-10 loading. (Maybe more, maybe less). So 350 pieces of brass will make a lot of rounds.

DaTexanBoy 01-06-2013 10:07 AM

200 pieces if .223 brass, you will go through pretty quickly. Personally, I like to have at minimum 1000 pieces of brass that I am going to be reloading unless its a big caliber like 7mm Rem Mag.

Another big thing with rifle reloads, is you want to sort by headstamp and load in lots for consistency. I think I have around 4k pieces of .223 and 4k pieces of 9mm, while only having around 500 pieces of 7mm Rem Mag, because I won't be shooting my 7mm RM all that often.

robocop10mm 01-06-2013 01:41 PM