Hornady LNL for .40S&W-Help!
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Ammunition & Reloading > Hornady LNL for .40S&W-Help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2009, 04:25 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Hornady LNL for .40S&W-Help!

Guys,

I'm brand new to reloading so please bare with me on this long email. I bought a Hornady LNL AP to reload for my handguns. The primary use will be for .40 S&W in an M&P pistol. I will also use it for .38 special and .357 in a revolver.

For equipment here's what I have coming; Nitride die sets, taper crimp die for the .40, shell plates, through the powder drop expander, powder cop, RCBS 505 scale, bullet puller, Hornady tumbler, RCBS media separator, and some misc. items. I have 3 reloading manuals, Hornady, Lyman and Lee for cross reference.

Here's some of my questions. How do you handle the primers on a progressive press? I figure I will tumble the cases with the spent primers in since they don't get removed until the sizing operation. Since it's a progressive, what about cleaning the primer pockets? I would have to pull out each case after the sizing/de-prime station and before the primer gets seated to clean, which defeats the purpose of the progressive press. I guess I could de-prime as a separate operation first and then tumble, but that seems cumbersome as well. What's the best way to handle cleaning primer pockets?